Ubuntu and I

Ubuntu and I go way back, starting in 2006. I had built my own PC a couple years before that was running Windows. I decided to finally start using Linux on the desktop full time. I had dabbled with it in college labs but nothing serious. A few years before I had even unsuccessfully attempted to install some Red Hat version from CDs provided in the back of books I got from the library. This time I was wiser and more determined.

The biggest obstacle I remember is getting my PCI WiFi card to work. Using some tutorials and NDISwrapper I got it working flawlessly. Thus began my journey with Ubuntu. If you read older posts on this blog you’ll see how I brought my love for Ubuntu to my workplace. There were a bunch of old unused servers lying in storage. Just about then the network file share device died and I got to add a few hard drives to one of the old servers for the purposes of a network file share. I tried Ubuntu and it installed easily. Just to experiment a bit more I also tried installing Debian and Fedora (even CentOS) but the experience wasn’t as smooth as Ubuntu.

Around the same time I was tasked with building a web-based project. I got the latest Ubuntu release installed in a VM and started developing. I deployed the application on the same version of Ubuntu on another repurposed server. I was on top of the world because Ubuntu was giving me opportunities to get work done.

When my MacBook started showing its age I tried to inject some life into it by installing Linux. Ubuntu was the only distro that worked best with the hardware out of the box. Some things like camera needed some extra work but I didn’t bother because I didn’t need it to work.

We needed a system at work to drive the monitoring screen in our NOC. I found an abandoned desktop with a bad hard drive. Debian wouldn’t install, Fedora balked and Ubuntu installed fine. To my knowledge that desktop with the bad hard drive is still performing 4+ years later.

More recently I have been using Fedora and openSUSE for getting my work done. These distros have improved a lot and even outpace Ubuntu in some areas. But one thing is for sure: I keep recommending Ubuntu to new users to Linux because it’s well-rounded. I also keep coming back to Ubuntu every now and then because it is built for power users, too.

Comments are closed.

