Install Sublime Text in openSUSE

I’ve been trying out the Sublime Text 3 Beta on openSUSE and Mac OS X and I like it so far. There are a few bugs, as expected, but it’s a great editor.

Head over to Sublime Text 3 Beta and download the 64-bit tarball (or 32-bit if that’s your environment).

Untar the file: tar xvjf sublime_text_3_*.tar.bz2

Since I’m the only user on the machine and a local install was fine for me I didn’t install it to /opt. Instead, I installed it to ~/bin. This meant I had to customize the install steps a little bit.

mv sublime_text_3/ ~/bin/

You also want to be able to run Sublime using your desktop environment’s menus and such. Copy the .desktop file to your local directory, changing paths as needed.

sed -e 's!Exec=/opt/sublime_text/sublime_text!Exec=$HOME/bin/sublime_text_3/sublime_text!g' -e 's!Icon=sublime-text!Icon=$HOME/bin/sublime_text_3/Icon/256x256/sublime-text.png!g' sublime_text.desktop > ~/.local/share/applications/sublime_text.desktop

I tried this successfully with Sublime Text 3 build 3059 on openSUSE 13.1.

Comments are closed.

