CrunchBang is Simply Awesome

I had a half-forgotten netbook lying around collecting dust, running Ubuntu 10.04 faithfully for a few years. It’s a Dell Inspiron 1012 with Intel Atom N450 and 1GB of memory. When I got my hands on it again I thought it was time to revive it for some light tasks around the house, something that I could hand to kids and let them watch You Tube or whatever.

I had been meaning to try out CrunchBang for a while now but always did it in VMs. This was my chance to try it out on “real” hardware. I got a 64-bit ISO downloaded, dded it to a USB flash drive, and booted the netbook with it.

The install was very simple and fairly fast. I overwrote the whole disk (after backing it up, of course) and the installer went on its merry way. After the installation completed it ran the cb-welcome script automatically, asking a bunch of questions to configure the system or install additional packages. After running updates and a reboot the netbook was ready to use.

CrunchBang is awesome because it’s Debian at its core with a functional desktop based on Openbox. It can take some getting used to because it doesn’t exactly function like a DE new users are used to. However, the keyboard shortcuts presented right on the desktop are a great starting point. And don’t get me started on the awesomeness that’s the low memoery usage. Less than 125MB after login is exceptional on this machine.

I made a few tweaks: auto-login (hint: edit /etc/slim.conf); reduce virtual desktops to a single desktop (hint: edit ~/.config/crunchbang/rc.xml); make DuckDuckGo the default search engine in Iceweasel (Firefox). Everything else is mostly default stuff.

I am beginning to think I may use this revived netbook for more things than just a plaything for the kids. All thanks to the awesome work of Debian and CrunchBang.

Comments are closed.

