Install Freeswitch on Ubuntu Server

I have started learning Freeswitch today and will document all the thing which I need to run the Freeswitch in this way I can keep track of my learning path and at the same time have reference guide for myself and others.

Freeswitch can be installed on Linux and Windows. It is up to the user which platform he is comfortable with. I personally prefer linux. I have choose Ubuntu Server 10.04 32-bit to run on my VirtualBox.

Let get start with the Installation.

Step 1.
Download Ubuntu Server 10.04 from “” and and install the base system with ssh only to manage it remotely.

Step 2.
Install Freeswitch from repository.
For Ubuntu Server version 10+ run this command first.
2.a. freeswitch@localhost~: sudo apt-get install pkg-config
2.b. Run following command from linux prompt
sudo apt-get install python-software-properties
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:freeswitch-drivers/freeswitch-nightly-drivers
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install freeswitch freeswitch-lang-en freeswitch-sounds-en-us-callie-8000
Freeswitch installed at /opt/freeswitch/

Step 3.
Fix the permissions
chown -R user:group /opt/freeswitch

Step 4.
Enable the freeswitch by editing the file called freeswitch located at /etc/default to true

Step 5.
To run Freeswitch use this command.
Goto directory /opt/freeswitch/bin/ and run
you will get the prompt
Run some command to test such as


Comments are closed.

