Delete Large List of Files

It all started when I was reading More Elegant Way To Delete Large List of Files? on reddit. Reading comments on the page led me to Perl to the rescue: case study of deleting a large directory. But me being a Python fan, I wasn’t satisfied with a Perl solution. My search led me to meeb’s comment on Quickest way to delete large amounts of files.

To summarize my quest for knowledge.

Using Perl: perl -e 'chdir "BADnew" or die; opendir D, "."; while ($n = readdir D) { unlink $n }'

Using Python:

#!/usr/bin/env python
import shutil

Using Bash:
Step 0: (optional) Create a list of files to delete (source: valadil’s comment and ensuing discussion). This step will help you figure out exactly what will be deleted.

find . -name "log*.xml" -exec echo rm -f {} \; > test_file;

Step 1: find . -type f -name "log*.xml" -print0 | xargs --null -n 100 rm

If it were up to me, I would use the Bash method as it’s easier for me to understand.

