Install KDE4 Desktop Environment in Debian Wheezy

Before you read this post, I strongly encourage you to read Install KDE 4 packages because it contains more information. I started with a netinstall CD and only installed standard stuff and no GUI. Once the installation was complete, I ran the following command to install KDE 4.

sudo aptitude install kdm kde-plasma-desktop

I installed KDM for my display manager and also the KDE4 plasma desktop package. Once everything was installed, I rebooted the machine.

One thing I noticed was that in KDM, both a GNOME and KDE session was available. I made sure that I selected KDE session at login. I also noticed that the network management widget was missing from the system tray. I like how I can use this widget to manage my network connections. Therefore, I needed to install it by running the following command:

sudo aptitude install plasma-widget-networkmanagement

After installing it, you need to use “Add Widgets” to add the “Network Management” widget to the system tray. Open the Network Management widget and click enable networking. I had to reboot the machine before I was able to manage network connections through it. It might be that “Network Manager“, the application actually managing the network connections, needed to take over from the traditional management in Debian CLI. I really don’t know but I do know that after a reboot it allowed me to manage my network connections.

So this was how I got my Debian Wheezy up and running with KDE 4.

One Response to Install KDE4 Desktop Environment in Debian Wheezy

  1. namhuy says:

    K Desktop Environment (KDE) is a free desktop environment and development platform built with Trolltech’s Qt toolkit. It runs on most Unix and Unix-like systems, such as Linux, BSD and Solaris. http://namhuy.net/1085/install-gui-on-debian-7-wheezy.html

    # apt-get install aptitude tasksel
    # aptitude –without-recommends install ~t^standard$ ~t^desktop$ ~t^kde-desktop$

    Or install KDE from the default repositorie
    # apt-get install kde-standard

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

