Yum repomd.xml Error

I installed Fedora 11 in a VMware virtual machine from a DVD iso image. After installation, I went on to do yum update and got this message: Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Searching the web revealed one most-recommended solution: check your DNS settings. It turns out, repomd.xml is a file located on the mirror from which you are trying to download updates, new package, whatever. The error message is displayed when yum is unable to either find or get the repomd file.

The first thing you should check is your Internet connection. Maybe try to ping some server (ping -c 3 google.com). If your connection is fine, the issue could be with DNS settings, proxy issues, or maybe the mirror you are connecting to is having problems. One solution I found said they simply waited some hours and it worked. It indicates to me that maybe the mirrors were having a hard time when they first tried but when their load decreased things were ok.

When I checked, eth0 on my Fedora install was disabled. I had to enable it, make sure network card was connected on VMware, brought down the interface and brought it back up. It used DHCP to get a new IP. I tested a ping to a server and it was successful. Now yum worked just fine.

Enable eth0

To enable eth0, I had to change the ifcfg-eth0 file. I ran the following commands:

sudo vim /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

And made sure the following two lines were present:



Bring Down Interface and Bring it Up

To bring down my eth0 interface, I ran

sudo ifdown eth0

To bring it back up, I ran

sudo ifup eth0

