FTP Server in Ubuntu

I looked for a few FTP servers in Linux. Up came Pure-FTP, ProFTPD, and vsftpd. All of them had their merits. However, for some reason even I don’t realize, I went along with vsftpd. To install it in Ubuntu was easy

sudo apt-get install vsftpd

It was configured for anonymous access only. However, I wanted to enable all valid users so that they may login to their home directories and do as they please. First, I stopped the server

sudo /etc/init.d/vsftpd stop

Then I edited the configuration file

sudo vim /etc/vsftpd.conf

The things that needed to be changed in the file were as below. The file did not have these lines written close to each other. But since I want to point only these things out, they are written here as such


These lines were changed as follows


We start the server

sudo /etc/init.d/vsftpd start

Now any user on the server could FTP to their home directory. And anonymous access is enabled as well.

Comments are closed.

