Turn off Voice Control in iOS 5 on iPhone 4

I had an interesting but frustrating problem where I accidentally turned on voice control over. Whatever I did, I was unable to turn it off. I could not use my fingers to move around the screen, etc. The important thing is to know that a single finger will now do what needs to be done.

Easiest Solution

According to a comment by anonymous (Thank You!), you can press the home button three times to disable it. Easy!

Initial Solution

To turn off voice control, go to Settings, General, Accessibility and VoiceOver. Turn it off. To help with how to actually navigate, read about VoiceOver and watch a video on the page.

148 Responses to Turn off Voice Control in iOS 5 on iPhone 4

  1. DL Hudson says:

    Thanks, your was the only help that worked.

  2. Anonymous says:

    that did not work for me. VoiceOver is off and VoiceControl is still on… please help.

  3. Anonymous says:

    settings | general | passcode lock

    Thanks! Not exactly an obvious area to look to turn off the voice dialing…

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh my god thank you, that was the most frustrating 20 minutes i have ever spent with a phone.

  5. Dinesh says:

    I thk you are reffering to voice over, not voice control, I still dont knw how to switch off voice control, annoying but can live with it

  6. blogophyte says:

    Voice control still on. It is coming on with out me even pressing the home button. I guess I need to take it in. The instruction works only for voice over not voice control.

  7. Iphone 4 new OS Turn the annoying voice OFF.

    Settings – General – Accessibility -Speak Selection

    finally peace and quit.

  8. Annoyed user says:

    That was definitely the worst 30 minutes of my life!

  9. Chris says:

    I have the same problem, but can’t scroll down to Accessibility in the General Settings menu. Scroll in several apps seems disabled. This just happened magically while I was showing someone some photos.

    I have to touch a button lightly to select a function, then double tap at a precise speed and pressure to launch the function. All the while, the maddening voice is narrating my every move.

    HELP, PLEASE!

  10. hs says:

    Try to move your finger in a circular motion to scroll down. I’ve not been able to master the scrolling myself either. It’s pretty annoying.

  11. Mike says:

    Try holding the hold button per

  12. Anonymous says:

    Je! Sus! This was incredibly annoying!!
    @ Chris 15th Jan, if you double-tap the last button you can see when you’re in Settings > General, then press Back, the screen should move down so “the last button is now the top button”. Keep doing this until you see Accessibility. Once you get in there, turn Voice Over off. Also, scroll down to the Physical & Motor section and and turn Triple-click off.
    This did my head in hugely for about 20 minutes, but all is peaceful now. Stupid thing!

  13. Viera says:

    I have everything off and the voice control still coming on. It just happened today out of the blue. I actually turned the phone OFF and it turned itself on by itself and straight to voice control… What’s going on. It even disregarded my password.

  14. Lisa says:

    I am also trying to turn my voice control off. Voice dialling is off, voice over is off. but voice control keeps popping while my phone is in my pocket at work.

  15. Finally got it. That was absolutely ridiculous…I have no idea how that stupid function got activated in the first place. Grrrrrrr Mac@

  16. Anonymous says:

    This has happened to me 3 times and everytime it has been while I was on a trip and it was imperative I was able to reach my kids. I took it to a store in St John and they charged me $40 to fix and didn’t tell me how to do it. The second time I went the entire trip without use of my phone and took it to the apple store and they fixed it. This time I found out how to fix it myself. The problem is if you hit the bottom round button 3 times it automatically turns the voice control on. Sooo frustrating and whoever designed this function was an idiot. The above instructions if done with light taps seems to work. Thanks.

  17. Anonymous says:

    It is turned off simply by clicking the home button three times. Yes, I agree this is so stupid. I figured this out after calling ATT and APple and neither of them being able to tell me what to do.

  18. Anonymous says:

    Ill say it again, triple tap home button. Fix this Apple!!!!!!!!!!

  19. Anonymous says:

    YEAH!!!!!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU whoever said to tap the home button 3 times. I was literally about to go insane. I have been working on this for an hour — searching help menus — poking paper clips into my SIM reader — literally about to bust out the hammer to crack this thing open.
    For no reason my phone froze up, turned voice over ON, wouldn’t let me tap or touch the screen to enter my password. Paralyzed.
    But the instruction to triple-tap the home button worked like a charm. Thanks, guys!!

  20. Anonymous says:

    thank you sooo much

  21. I echo everything Anonymous said.
    How can anybody produce such a high tech piece of kit, charge a fortune for it and not have any accessable help function???

  22. Anonymous says:

    thanks for sharing this info…my iphone was about 2 seconds from being splattered against the wall….grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr…lol

  23. shirliana says:

    UnBELIEVABLE!!! Worst 30 minutes ever!!! I finally read the directions above that said to click a few times on the home button. It turned it right off. I can scroll again too!

    GOOD RIDDANCE – what a horrible thing to put on that phone!! I was ready to toss it!

  24. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for this simple solution. Worked like a charm!

  25. Anonymous says:

    As previously stated, extremely frustrating!
    Single tap to select,
    Double tap to operate,
    Use a 3 fingered swipe to scroll to the Accessibilty at the bottom of the Settings.

  26. Anonymous says:

    My screen frozen and voice control turned on. 3 clicks on home button does not work. help!

  27. Anonymous says:

    After lengthy search for a solution to the same problem with my iphone 4, I am very appreciative of the simple solution found here! Three taps of the home button and presto, its fixed! Thanks!

  28. Anonymous says:

    Worked like a charm…thank you so much!

  29. Lec says:

    Ok so hitting the home button 3 times turns it off after it has come on but how do you disable it completely. The home button keeps getting pushed in my pocket and turns the Voice Control on. I just want to disable it forever…

  30. Hugh says:

    Lec – I’m having a similar problem, with the added complication that my activated ‘voice control’ then starts making random calls based on whatever sounds it hears. I too would like to know how to disable ‘voice control’ – and with a degree of urgency.

  31. Nananana says:

    Hugh, Lec, I’ve accidentally dialed 2 ex flings in the last 24 hours because of this evil voice control bananas. I eagerly await a solution.

  32. Samantha** says:

    Is there any other way than triple clicking the home button to disable this? I have recently come across the problem where voice control turns on and I cant get out of it. Any time I try to give it such commands as “voice control off” or even “power off” to turn off my iphone it begins to call and facetime people and play random music. Please Help!

  33. Samantha** says:

    **** whenever I triple click the home button it just inverts the colors on my phone.

  34. Anonymous says:

    I pressed the home button repeatedly and it stop doing it immediately.

  35. Linda says:

    Some people evidently can’t tell that there are two different things being discussed here – Voice Over (i.e. phone reads the menus to you – this is turned off by pressing the Home buttong thrice), and Voice Control (i.e. you speak to the phone to dial out etc.). No-one seems to know how to disable Voice Control, which becomes active if you *hold* the home button. If this happens accidentally, then random sounds cause the phone to make random calls!

  36. zeric says:

    finally i got it heres what i did
    goto GENERAL > ACCESSIBILITY > VOICE OVER then OFF

    Note. please use your 3 fingers to scroll down so you can move to the bottom.

  37. zeric says:

    finally i got it heres what i did
    goto GENERAL > ACCESSIBILITY > VOICE OVER then OFF

    Note. please use your 3 fingers to scroll down so you can move to the bottom. thanks

  38. Kat says:

    This was one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had with the iphone that I felt an urgency to leave a comment. Never 4am and I had this stupid issue. I followed the instructions above by clicking the button three times, then using three fingers to scroll my screen as it was frozen. I went into settings (double click), general (double click) then accessibility(double click) and finally voice over (double click) What a nightmare, I hate iphone what a pest

  39. Anonymous says:

    THANK YOU SOOO MUCH!!!!

  40. Wendy says:

    Voice control came on ALL NIGHT!!! I use my phone as an alarm clock so I couldn’t shut it off. It started about 1:30 and happened about a dozen times last night and then I finally fell asleep and my phone started playing a song on my playlist. I got about 4 hours of sleep last night because of this. My phone was on the table next to my bed. I was asleep and all was quiet and Voice Control would pop up on my phone and wake me up. I tried powering if off and then finally got up and googled it and changed my settings and set a passcode, etc. but it STILL IS COMING ON!!!! Going to apple store to get it fixed but I need my sleep!!!!!

  41. really annoyed says:

    Keep trying. I clicked the home button 3 times. It took about 8 different trys. It would not allow me to get to my settings page, so that was not an option. Apple really needs to fix that. Disable it forever.

  42. Varun says:

    Thank you so much. This was so frustrating!

  43. Anonymous says:

    Works, Thanks you!

  44. Celery says:

    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

  45. aafreen says:

    my gosh!! i have an exam tmrw n iv been busy for the past 30 mins with this stupid voice over situation..! but alas! its all in the past…
    the main problem is that u cannot scroll down.. just use three fingers together n scroll in the direction u want to.. go to settings-general-accessibility-voice over..

  46. Anonymous says:

    This is ridiculous! How do you disable it FOREVER?! Have done all of the above, hitting home button does nothing but alter my home screen for less than a second. When the home button is accidently pressed it goes back to voice control. I’ve been calling numbers randomly when the phone is in my bag and these calls can last 5 minutes, who knows what I’m saying. It’s scary. HOW DO YOU GET RID OF VOICE CONTROL? All voice over functions etc are switched off.

  47. Wendy says:

    I took my phone to the apple store and they had to wipe out the phone completely and then start from fresh. It was a frustrating and annoying experience.

  48. unknown user says:

    I tried pressing the home button 3 times really fast and it worked!!! Thanks.

  49. Hawash says:

    i cant witch the i phone self voice

  50. Anonymous says:

    Umm, my phone is doing the same thing and the double or triple tap feature isn’t working either.

  51. slippymum says:

    i cant tap the button 3 times as my home button seems to have stopped working AFTER voice control starting activating itself.. Apple really need to do something about this.. these phones are not cheap and shouldnt be breaking down after a few weeks of use!

  52. Lisarose says:

    I don’t have the problem of not being able to do anything. I actually just want to know if there is a way to get rid the voice control option altogether. I wld prefer it if nothing happened when I hold down the home button or at least be able to change it to something else. If anyone knows of a way please let me know.

  53. Kasi says:

    The “easy” fix didn’t work for me the first – oh – twenty times I tried it. It finally worked when I was in the screen that looks like you’re typing a message. Thank you, whoever put that up there! Also, NO solution to the scrolling problem I tried worked. Just saying, so no one else feels like they’re the only one!

  54. Anonymous says:

    Thank you..

  55. Anonymous says:

    This function is ridiculos! Nthing works for me, only the three fingers touching the screen to scroll down in settings! That stupid voice was getting me crazy

  56. Anonymous says:

    Same problem, I was like WHAT!!! Thanks for the easy fix.

  57. Zouheir says:

    Finally!!! I have tripped 45 minutes on that Shit!! wasnt able to scroll down until i figured out the 3 Fingers scroll magic!! Use your 3 fingers ( Down to up ) – First double click on silly settings and then swap from down to up with your 3 fingers than click general – Access…- TURN ANNOYIN VOICE CONTROL OFF!

  58. Ladies and Gents, I was facing the same problem when running with my iPhone 4S. The issues it seems is not the phone but the Apple earplugs. If the center button gets pressed by mistake, it does all kinds of funny things like shuffling the songs, fast forwarding, activating voice control, etc. It won’t happen if you enable Passcode and then disable Voice Dial. Else just don’t use Apple provided earplugs. Hope it helps!

  59. I use my phone’s music with earplugs while running 15 miles at a shot. I need music! Whenever a car passes by voice control turns on. Also the random shuffling, plays twice as fast etc. I already had passcode enabled, voice control off, all things in accessibility off. I just tapped the home 3 times. maybe that will help. it could be that the home is pressed while in my fanny pack. I may need to get an armpod?
    jun 9/12

  60. Anonymous says:

    I was about to lose my mind! Thank you!

  61. Deana says:

    I was on my run two mornings ago and out of the blue my Nike app says “pausing workout” and Seri comes on and asks what I need…. Over and over again. After a ruined workout I disabled her and thought I was done with the crazies ( random shuffling, music twice as fast etc) but NO. On my run this morning the first hour was fine then voice control came on, off, on, off. Oh my god so f-ing frustrating. I agree with everyone above I just wanted to break the phone. Thanks Rebecca for the heads up on the ear plug problem. I’m going to try new plugs and see if I can get a more relaxing workout!

  62. Sammi says:

    Hi Guys! I Had the same problem with VOICE OVER. finally figured out ( after about an hour) that you need to use THREE fingers to scroll down. Once your in settings, go to general, then use your three fingers simultaniously scroll UP to go down, go to accessibility then voice over. then you can turrn it off :D hope this helps!

  63. Anonymous says:

    Voice Control occasionally comes on unexpectedly. I think the triple click of the home button relates to the VoiceOver problem people have also been having. I noticed under Settings General Accessability that there is a place to turn on or off “Triple-click Home”. Mine is currently turned off. The “Triple-click Home” setting may be off for some people. That could explain why it works for some people and not others. I have yet to see how to disable Voice Control. (Not VoiceOver but Voice Control).

  64. I tried different headphones (ones from a gas station, not earbuds that came with phone) and did not have the voice control problem last run. It could be that microphone on the iphone earbuds that is picking up sounds causing voice control to come on. I will try the headphones for a 16 mile run and see how that goes!

  65. alyesha fyeegurl chick house says:

    if i cant scrool down how can i turn it off common sense thats not goin to help

  66. alyesha fyeegurl chick house says:

    its not working

  67. Cris says:

    Guys, VOICE CONTROL is different from VOICE OVER. Please stop the stupidity. This thread is only about turning off VOICE CONTROL and it has nothing to do with VOICE OVER. Kapish?

    Now lets talk about solutions here. How can we turn this god forsaken VOICE CONTROL off? I think it has something to do with the mouthpiece because it only happens whenever we listen to music right? Pfff… Any answers guys?

  68. Definitely- do not use the earphones that came with the iphone. It has a microphone in it that picks up stray sounds. I am a runner. I tried things suggested here. Nothing worked permanently until I simply used a different headPHONE with NO mike. I go an hour to 3 hours plus at a time and have had no issues since changing headphones. Hope that works for you!

  69. Twin says:

    !SOLUTION! This will remove voice control compeltely.

    I’ve patiently done hours of research while my iPhone has been lying there, going in and out of VOICE CONTROL. Yes, you can disable voice dial. BUT if you read underneath the voice dial on/off button it says: (settings->general->passcode lock->voice dial on/off)

    “Music Voice Control is alwasy enabled”

    This means that your iPhone will still go into voice control regardless because Apple don’t want you to disable music voice control(because this feature is just so AMAZING)

    Sorry regular iPhone owners, this is a fix for jailbroken iPhones. It doesn’t look like there’s ANY way of disabling voice control completely if you have a regular iPhone.
    And I might add that a regualr iPhone is like an unborn child.

    Heres the SOLUTION to disable VOICE CONTROL COMPLETELY(for jailbroken iPhones):

    You need to install “iFile” from Cydia, then just follow these instructions:
    “….. just go into iFile, navigate to /system/library/coreservices/s­pringboard.app.. Then open a file named N##AP.plist (for my iPhone it was N90AP.plist), search for “voice”, then edit the “true” value to “false”.”
    It should now look like this:

    voice-control

    Save and respring, and youre done

    If you now go to “settings->general->passcode lock” you will notice that the feature is COMPLETELY REMOVED. Just wiped from the menu.

    Here’s a link to the YouTube video if you need visual guidance: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzrJGhGbr2s

    Thanks to JJsiPhone3GS for the video and dan428 for the quick tip.

    OH and people of Apple: seriously? Jeez…

    Peace

  70. Anonymous says:

    THANK YOU!!! This was driving me crazy after I accidentally turned it on and could hardly make my phone do anything.

  71. Anonymous says:

    Huge help. Thanks so much!

  72. Vj says:

    That didnt work for me. “VOICE CONTROL” is still on

  73. Cristina A. says:

    Click Settings >Use three fingers to scroll down to get to Accessibility > Go to – VOICE OVER & click off….Presto!!!

  74. Anonymous says:

    Thank you!haha My whole house had a try fixing this and all that came out was a bunch of frustrated and Scary people. This worked like a charm!

  75. gordonoga says:

    I HAVE THE SOLUTION!!!! With the phone locked (lock with top button), when the Home button is pressed and Voice Control activated, it now says “Voice dialing is disabled”. To enable this (works on iPhone 4), go to Settings – General – Passcode lock (enter Passcode if ON) – turn Voice Dial OFF. I think Passcode Lock needs to be ON for this to work. Mine is set for 1 hour before passcode is needed after last use but options are from Immediately to 4 hours.

    Is this what you all want????? Doesn’t solve the music problem but at least this would have saved the embarrassing phone cal the phone made this morning.

  76. Eric says:

    No, that doesn’t work. The issue is not as simple as turning Voice Dial, Voice Over or any other settings to the “off” position. The phone “believes” that the home button is being pressed/held down, thus causing Voice Control (again, NOT Voice Over) to launch. It is a software issue that Apple needs to fix. If there was a way for non-jailbroken iPhones to turn off Voice Control completely (as Twin says, “Music Voice Control Is Always Enabled”), then the annoying Voice Control that continues to launch on several peoples’ phones may be “fixable”. I would assume that your phones will randomly act as if you pressed the “Home” button while you’re doing other things as well (i.e. checking mail, using an App, or typing a text message), thus causing your phone to return to the home screen or, at least, quit the app you were in. That is somewhat annoying, but not as annoying as having the Voice Control beep and Siri randomly going off during meetings/classes/sleep.

    if anyone from Apple reads these posts, this is an actual issue that should be addressed. There is really no excuse for making users incapable of turning off a function that automatically plays music or speaks like Voice Control does.

  77. Barbara says:

    Turning VoiceOver Off

    1. Double-tap the Settings icon on your homepage.
    2. Use three fingers to scroll down to the General menu, and double-click on it. Click for image.
    3. Use three fingers to scroll down to the Accessibility menu, and double-click on it. Click for image.
    4. Double-tap on the VoiceOver menu item. Click for image.
    5. Turn VoiceOver off

    At this point your phone should be back to normal.

  78. Anonymous says:

    god bless you !

  79. lance Voix says:

    Yeah I fully agree Apple needs to sort this out, i have a faulty home button, but the use of Assistive Touch means that this is not an issue. But, sometimes even though 99% of the time my home button does not work, all of a sudden voice control is activated and if you are no there to catch it your phone starts dialling ex bosses, ex girlfriends and international numbers at any time of the day, there is a setting in settings>passcode lock>voice dial to switch off voice dial, but it would appear that even with this switched to off, if voice control is activated by accident, voice dialling can still happen, BUT NOT ALWAYS, which would indicate there is a bug, I tested this many time an even with voice dialling off, if voice control is activated calls can still be made.

    This is a clear bug in the software.

  80. Anonymous says:

    twin
    you are a star!!! I followed all your steps and jailbreaked that phone as voice control was out of control due to a loose home button and I have it fixed now. thanks.
    You need to install “iFile” from Cydia, then just follow these instructions:
    “….. just go into iFile, navigate to /system/library/coreservices/s­pringboard.app.. Then open a file named N##AP.plist (for my iPhone it was N90AP.plist), search for “voice”, then edit the “true” value to “false”.”
    It should now look like this:

    voice-control

    Save and respring, and you’re done (respiring means just turn it on and off)

  81. Anonymous says:

    Can somebody please help me, voice control has turned itself on and it seems to have disabled my home button so I can’t press it three times to turn it off. Is there any other way to fix this?

  82. Anonymous says:

    hi there … really frustrating … random calls going out … go to: settings/general/passcode lock (enter your code) turn off voice dial … music voice control however is always enabled … have a good day … bruno.

  83. Chastity says:

    My voice control is non-stop coming on!!!! I feel like Im bout to go insane! I have tried triple clicking the home button (the home button wont even work), I checked both the voice over and voice dial…its all off and has been off! I literally want to throw this phone against a wall & I am soooo not a person to do that but, it is driving me insane! I cant turn my phone off, I truly can’t do anything with this and this voice woman is workin my last nerve!

  84. Lorian Lippy says:

    I can not turn voice control off and I have to turn the iPhone 4 completely off and the back on again to go from one app to the other. I have turned off everything, I have tried triple tapping the home button. When it first occurred it froze my phone and I could not turn it off and the phone wanted to be connected to iTunes, I plugged the phone into my Mac and evoked iTunes, it started to synce and crashed. I then restored the iphone and it crashed 4 times during restore, during each attempt at restore it would get farther along and on the 4 attempt it completed the restore and the voice control problem is still there and you can not navigate between apps unless I shut down! What the ??? I’m an ex Apple employee, this is insane… Does anyone know if this is a firmware problem?

  85. Anonymous says:

    just press the home button three times and it works

  86. Ryan says:

    The only way to make it turn off is to reset your phone setting you won’t lose any apps or pics or vids but is does get rid of the voice controll

  87. Brian F says:

    Yes I have tried all of the recommended solutions and I am still turning on the iTunes first song to my iTunes Library which is the Dan Band – Abba Melody. The small pressure of the iPhone in my pocket constantly starts songs in the pocket. Even after I turned voice dial off, I have had some really weird voice dials even while I was in London during the Olympics. I NEVER USE VOICE CONTROL! I HAVE A 3GS! I don’t have Siri! Well I had the Siri app before Apple bought it and made it useless to me.

    Anyway I am still calling people I don’t want to, and hearing songs I dont want to. You cannot put any pressure on the Home button without uncontrollable results it really sucks! I have been doing this several times a day it it drives me CRAZY! I am ready to go get an Android at this rate! I am a loyal Apple guy since 1995 so go figure. I have read SO MANY posts about this you Can’t turn this off with out a Jailbreak hack. I don’t want to do that.

    Frustrated.

  88. susan says:

    Thank you so much its a very frustrating situation. Has happened twice in as many weeks thank to u i didnt have to go into apple this time

  89. amol says:

    thanks for the solution i got very frustrate due to this situation
    thank uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

  90. Paul says:

    The complaints are for voice CONTROL not voice over These r two different functions

  91. Anonymous says:

    Thank You!!! Thank You!!!

  92. Mark Venay says:

    i had the same problem on my iphone 4 and it work for me..am very Happy Lol…because it was
    frustrating.

  93. Anonymous says:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! Was driving me nuts!

  94. Kaudy says:

    Most people here are still getting confused with VOICE CONTROL and VOICE OVER!!!

    This post is TO FIND OUT HOW TO TURN OFF VOICE CONTROL… Not Voice Over… :-(

    So, somebody please let us know how to turn OFF the damn VOICE CONTROL… O’course wud be better without jailbreaking….

  95. Shadney says:

    Thank god I found this. I got the voice over for 6 days, still couldn’t fix it. iPhone, you confuse me.

  96. Colin says:

    Voice CONTROL has been activated on my iphone 4 for the past 24hrs, randomly phoning loads of people (some internationally) who keep returning the calls to ask what I wanted them for! Followed suggestions for turning off Voice ‘OVER’ which I now realise has nothing to do with Voice ‘CONTROL’ – I have tried pressing home key 3 times but its difficult as that has become non functional unless I turn power off and reboot phone, it then operates for a few minutes. Having tried the triple click numerous times and different speeds in home screen and screen lock mode, it appears to have worked – for now anyway! Thanks for all your input! Trial and error worked in the end.

  97. Claire says:

    I have the 4 digit passcode set up & cannot access the phone now, after it went wild and started reading the menus at me, all I did was put in on charge! :( Im attempting a restore settings… will this even help?

  98. Nicole says:

    Great advice and it worked. Press home button three times and the voice command is turned off. Thanks again

  99. adil says:

    that did not work for me. VoiceOver is off and VoiceControl is still on… please help.

  100. Aaysha says:

    I turned voice over off but it still keeps popping up what do i do?

  101. Anonymous says:

    go to settings then general and if you can’t see the accesibility and you can’t scroll your screen try to scroll up using three finger..then turn the voice over off..hope it can help you guys…

  102. Anonymous says:

    ya çok teşekkür ederim kurtuldum kabustan 3 parmak kimin aklına gelirki

  103. tony says:

    I also out of the blue had the problem of voice control being activated and calling random people, so after about 8 complete restores which has taken a hell of a time, but has now at last fixed itself, thank you apple you owe me an hour!!!

  104. Anonymous says:

    Thanks you so much, that stupid voiceover was driving me nuts. “Double tap to open”, “Screen dimmed”, “Screen locked”, STFU!

  105. I picked up my phone to use it and the “voice over” came on; I kept putting in my password, but it wouldn’t even allow me to go to the desktop. I couldn’t make a phone call or do “anything.” Finally, I hit the home button (at the bottom) three times and everything was fixed. Thank God, I was at home and could log on to the computer and read about how to fix the problem.

  106. Anonymous says:

    I personally tried tapping the home button 3 times or repeatedly and it never worked for me, only made it even more annoying. The only way I got it to work was to go to Settings > General> Accessibility….and since it wouldn’t scroll, I used the “3 finger scroll” which is where you press 3 fingers against the screenat once and swipe up or down and was finally able to get the dang thing off!

  107. ara says:

    Thanks a lot! Three taps helped!! Wow! This is just amazing!:)

  108. Anonymous says:

    Thank you! I was about to throw my phone across the room.

  109. David says:

    I don’t know if I should cry or laugh. This thread is absurd. Just a small handful I think actually read all of the posts. If they had they would realize they were taking part in an Abbot and Costello bit. Whose on first?

    VOICE CONTROL

    IS DIFFERENT THAN

    VOICE OVER !

    Voice over is one of a few options controlled by the triple clicking of the home button. That does not control Voice Control. Voice Control should be toggled on and off by the setting in the passcode settings. BUT, as some have come here to find a solution for, it does not seem to stop VOICE CONTROL from self activating out of the blue. UNPROVOKED, UNTOUCHED. I believe that is what this thread was started for. NOT VOICE OVER!

  110. Anonymous says:

    Voice Over Option when accidentally turned on.

    We lose patience when we do not know how to turn it off
    So do the following patiently
    Step 1.
    Press home button thrice to get Accessibility option
    You will a tick mark on voice over
    Now select that by touching that and double click on the same to disable.

    patience is the key

  111. Voice Control for the Music app is always on, but you can prevent voice dialing when iPhone
    is locked.
    Prevent voice dialing when iPhone is locked: Go to Settings > General > Passcode Lock, then
    turn off Voice Dial (available only when Siri is turned off in Settings > General > Siri). To use voice
    dialing, you must first unlock iPhone.

  112. Charlene Joan Sant says:

    AAAAAA i cant bloody scroll down to switch this off!! Heeeeelp im gonna cry with frustration!! :,O

  113. Anonymous says:

    Thanks !! Worked like a charm

  114. Anonymous says:

    Triple tap rocked it…… I too was ready to whizz this thing out the window with frustration….
    Three taps to destroy voice control.. Thank goodness…….

  115. Anonymous says:

    My three year old grandson turned my voice control on somehow when I wasn’t looking. I was going crazy trying to figure out how to turn it off. Thanks for the advice of triple tapping the home button. Now I’ve locked my phone with a password so he can’t do it again!!!!

  116. meg says:

    Well il be writing a letter to apple saying to sort it out and get rid or il be going to the papers and getting a pertistion going to stop sell crap i phones nothing but hastle

  117. pat says:

    I did everyway , it’s work. But the problem is when I sit down and the Iphone is in my pant, the blue screen is show immediately. It’s so sensitive and annoying me
    I already put the password
    I already off the triple-click home
    I set the home click speed to slowest
    and I already turn off voice control

    but the blue screen is still coming. shit OMG

  118. Anonymous says:

    i actually went to settings.. general and moved my finger in circular motions to get to accessability!!

  119. justin cheng says:

    HOW I CAN TURN OF MY VOICE CONTOL YOU YOU HELP ME WITH IT
    THANK YOU

  120. marjorie benio says:

    Wow! Thank you! your very helpful re: turning off the voice control. It was turned on w/o me turning it on!!!? I was getting impatient already as I was browsing thru iphone manual guide how to turn it off! but unfortunately unable to find how to do it. So, I opted to to search thru google and landed on you codeghar! Your a big help! thank you so much! God bless.

  121. rosina says:

    Voice Control..Not Voice over… I can’t get mine off either and I’m sick of it calling people in the middle of the night..There has to be a way

  122. rosina says:

    Sometimes it will even disable for awhile..weeks months .. Then all of a sudden it’s back on

  123. Anonymous says:

    I had the same problem, mi iphone 5 had Voice Over activated and I coudn’t scrool down the screen. The solution is: “Use three fingers to Reset your Iphone”. Go to Settings>General; then you need to go to Accessibility (since it was not possible to scrool down the screen when you are in “General”, I couldn’t go to Accessibility; but the solution was pressing using three fingers to scrool down and go down to Accessibility). Finanly, when you are in Accessibility screen, go to Reset and “Reset your Iphone”. Your Iphone 5 will restart and Voice over would never appear once again!!

  124. Anonymous says:

    Thanks .it reall works…!!!

  125. Anonymous says:

    thank you! my phone was about to be smashed into pieces! stupid thing to put on a phone!

  126. Kim says:

    Siri was turned off. All I did was turn Siri back on and voice control went away.

  127. Anonymous says:

    Oh my goodness!!! I was about to tear this phone up!! Called At&T tech support..they didn’t even know how to turn it off. She even tried calling Apple! Finally after about enough of tech support wasting my time I googled it and Thank goodness found the tapping the home button 3 times solution. Worked like a charm! The idiot who came up with that voice control crap should
    see a shrink!

  128. Anonymous says:

    i got a problem with my iphone 5? how to press it anywayy? still not working

  129. Jeannie says:

    Wonderful!!!!! Thank you so much as I was getting really aggravated! I am so glad it was something simple!

  130. Eimi Wang says:

    HERE IT WORKS, TRUST ME!
    1. Connect your iPhone to iTunes via Cable (iTunes Newest Version)
    2. Go to iPhone
    3. Click–>Configure Universal Access
    4. Chose–>Seeing: Neither
    5. Click–> OK

  131. Settings > General > Passcode Lock > Voice Dial and switch it off. That should fix auto-voice dialing for iPhone 4 users.

  132. katie ellison says:

    My iphone4s is on voice control and you supposed to be able to turn it off by clicking home button 3 times but it don’t work for me I can’t unlock it it been disabled to were I have to wait 15 minutes I’m afraid I’ll lock it up what do I do

  133. danielle says:

    OK SO I HAD MY PHONE ON VOICE CONTROL FOR OVER 4 HOURS. THE SCREEN WOULD NOT RESPOND TO MY FINGERS. IT WAS COMPLETELY FROZEN. THE ONLY WAY YOU COULD WORK THE PHONE WAS TO TALK INTO IT. THE CLICKING HOME BUTTON 3 TIMES DOES NOT WORK AT ALL.

    WHAT WORKED FOR VOICE CONTROL WAS….HOLD THE HOME BUTTON AND THE POWER BUT DOWN AT THE SAME TIME UNTIL THE PHONE SHUTS OFF AND THE APPLE SYMBOL COMES ON RIGHT AWAY…VOICE CONTROL THEN ASKS YOU IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO KEEP VOICE CONTROL ON OR OFF. TO TURN OFF THE VOICE CONTROL YOU THEN HIT THE HOME BUTTON ONE MORE TIME. AND WAHLA….MY PHONE WORKS AGAIN!!! PROMISE THAT THIS ACTUALLY WORKS!!!

  134. Lindsay says:

    Seriously this is the dumbest thread ever. None of those things work. Voice activation still comes on, calls random people, plays music and there is NOTHING you can do about it. I’ve taken my phone in to apple and att and all they can tell me is to buy a new phone! So irritated! This should not be happening and I definitely should not have to spend another $500 on a new phone when every other feature of this phone works perfectly! HATE APPLE!!

  135. noemy says:

    I LOOOOOVEE YOUUUUUUUUUU! it was driving me up the wall

  136. Anonymous says:

    Hi I had same problem voice control locking the password page and not allowing entry solved it by repeated triple pressing of home button then could enter password..Worked for me. thanks all

  137. Sam says:

    My home button is broken I use assistive touch to use my home button. Since I downloaded i0s 6.1.3 on my iPhone voice control turns automatically on calls random people even tho I have a pass lock code on it and plays random music when no one talks to it. It happens multiple times a day when I’m not anywhere near it so I shut my phone off which is very annoying in order to stop the voice control and I don’t get my phone calls. I pay for this service and I’m not at all pleased with apple software

  138. Anonymous says:

    Thank you very much i was about to cry and just sleep it really helps

  139. Cindy says:

    I have an iPhone 4 and I hate it. I have been trying to turn my phone off and voice control comes up. I haven’t turned anything on and I got on the Internet to find a way to turn it off. I have went to settings and I have clicked the home button 3 times and it still won’t turn off. What can I do? I hope someone can help me because this thing is driving me crazy!!! :(

  140. saffu says:

    Thank you it was so easy but difficult to identify.

  141. Ariannavavaz@yahoo.com says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I even threw my phone cause I was so frustrated 😠😠😠but thanks to this super easy solution my phone is back to normal 😄😄😄😄😄😄 thanks again.

  142. Anonymous says:

    Scroll down with 3 a fingers, worked like a charm. Thank you very much!!

  143. PLN says:

    OH MY GOD Thank you. I was about to throw my phone in a pond and be done with it forever. I was going crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  144. KATENDE says:

    i spent a full day trying to remove the voice thing bt all in vine.THANKS ANONYMOUS for that easy three times tap.

  145. varghese scaria says:

    I had this very problem the 2nd day for my iphone5s. it made me crazy trying to switch off the phone but it wouldnt . somehow the home button was clicked thrice and it got back to normal. but since then the proximity sensor while talking on the phone is not working. when i bought the phone i found the best thing about the 5s was that as you take away the phone further away from your ear the speakers and microphones would get activated and i could talk hands free. now its not working . its just 15 days from my purchase , i wonder if it is a hardware problem or some settings . can someone advise.

  146. Anonymous says:

    How do you turn off voice control?

  147. zoe says:

    oh my goodness. i could not get voice over to go off for a whole day. finally i tried scrolling with three fingers and i could get in to general in the settings. then you go to accessibility scroll down with three fingers and turn voice over off.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

