Debian Minimal Install

I like to do a minimal install of Debian and then only add the packages I need. I took the Lenny RC1 net install CD and installed from it. When the installer prompts to install software, I uncheck Desktop Envrionment and also the Standard System. This way only the very base system is installed. After installation, I usually run the following commands as root user:

aptitude install sudo vim
update-alternatives --config editor [I choose vim.basic as my editor of choice]
visudo [add my first user -- other than root -- to the sudoers file]

After this I am ready to use my regular user, using sudo if required. Now I install packages as and when required.

One Response to Debian Minimal Install

  1. Pasteurized says:

    One of my favorite tip for a minimal install, is to disable automatic install of Recommends packages (most of them are most of time useless) :

    Create or Edit the file /etc/apt/apt.conf file and add :

    // Disable Recommended and suggested packages
    APT::Install-Recommends “0″;
    APT::Install-Suggests “0″;

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

